It’s A Dog’s Life – In My Home Anyway

Standard

.

For the first time since he came to live with me, just over ten years, Max has fallen asleep on my lap.

.

IMG_5916

.

It’s just shy of eleven months since we lost both Horatio then Jack. We have both struggled quite badly to live with the loss – for lots of different reasons.

I still miss my boys so much and still instantly tear-up when I think of them. Having them in my life altered the course of my entire being. They enriched my existence by an immeasurable amount.

.

My Boys . . . . 2009

My Boys . . . . 2009

.

Max and I still have a ways to go, in trying to have a happy life with just the two of us. But we keep trying.

On the whole, I have found that having my three Boys was healthier than any other relationship (bar one) that I ever had with a human. Humans are not reliable. Dogs are predictable. They are also loyal and loving and gentle.

I have thought about adopting another dog, particularly for Max’s sake – but I’m just too allergic. I’m actually allergic to Max, but we soldier on in a fashion as the allergy isn’t nearly as strong as with most other breeds.

It helps that I love him so much, too.

.

He woke himself up by snorting!

He woke himself up by snorting!

.

.

.

.

.

2 responses »

    • Oh my Max is a Maxwell as well.
      And your Max has just as loving a face as my Max.
      ❤ straight back to you both.

      Pia

Leave a Reply

