Autumn Melancholy

Standard

I am decidedly NOT a fan of Winter.
Never have been.
Never will be.
Living in a mostly-uninsulated fibro house on stilts doesn’t help the issue.
It gets bloody cold in my little purple house.

But, I am on a path to remedying that particular issue!

At this time of the year as the days are getting vastly shorter and the evening cool sets in at about 4pm, I start to get a little ‘melancholy’. I am aware of Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) and other forms of the Winter Blues and recognise that with my history of Depression – I am susceptible. I know to keep an eye out for certain symptoms.

However, even armed with knowledge of what may come and experience of the past, I will be exposed to the unavoidable despair. That’s just how it is – I can’t avoid it.

So I am going to spend a little time in the coming days – this week in particular – to try to build a plan. A plan to deal with the cold and the short days and the sunless daylight and the rain and the wind and did I mention the cold? I really REALLY dislike being cold.

If you have any tips on how to better deal with the inevitable cool seasons, please, please let me know.

I am starting tonight, by moving my bed and tucking a blanket across the foot of the bed. Snuggly toes do make me feel a heck of a lot happier.

Next is going to be insulation in the new walls of my new kitchen – BOY! Is that a story you have to hear.

Leave a Reply

