Lemon Tart At Christmas

Standard

Horatio Collage

Horatio was always a ratbag.
From the day that I met him when he was just 9 days old, he showed himself to be strong willed and independent. Although he was the runt of a litter of six pups, he was the first one to open his eyes and the first one to wander away from his Mum.

Quite a few times in our lives together, he pissed me off.
I once caught him urinating against some brand new curtains that I had just finished hanging, and he seriously just looked at me as he finished. He looked me right in the eye as he just kept pissing.

Bloody little shit!

And I could never leave any food within his reach. He once pulled a just opened camembert off my coffee table and ate the whole thing.

Bloody little shit!

Last Christmas was very difficult. Just tough. I had few pleasures to enjoy.
But Christmas time does present itself with lots of treats and has so many edible joys. Food that we only have at Christmas and therefore savour. Like lemon tarts from Bakers Delight.

So last Christmas I splurged on a box of six of these delicious little morsels. However, when I got home I was busting to go to the toilet, so I dumped all my shopping bags – including the one with the box of lemon tarts – on the floor by the back door, and dashed to the dunny.

When I came out I forgot about the groceries and went to another task, something not important but it was enough to distract me from the food by the back door.

And you can totally guess what happened can’t you? Horatio dragged the whole box of tarts out to the back lawn and destroyed two of them before I discovered him. In fact he was onto his third!

Bloody little shit!

So today, when I bought my first lemon tart for the 2014 Christmas season, I thought of my little monster. Gone from me just over six months ago.

Today is also exactly six months since I made the decision to kill my beloved Jack. Exactly six months ago. Today.
And I still miss him so utterly.

But today is about lemon tarts.
Lemon tarts and Horatio.
My own bloody little shit!

IMG_5053

Leave a Reply

