Clam

Standard

.

.

Mollusc

.

Clams are one of my favourite sea creatures – as they are delicious!

The most wonderful culinary memory I have of clams, is of the simply sublime Clam Chowder I devoured on the foreshore of San Francisco Bay in 1996. It was the first time I had tasted clam chowder and I will never forget the silky, thick broth and seriously considered having a second bowl. It was so good.

And I’ve never really been able to repeat this gastronomic nirvana. It was that good!

.

.

Clog

.

One of the most negative side effects of my long-term *Asthma*, has been the learning and perfecting how to isolate myself from others.

Initially it was a coping mechanism when I was feeling ‘blue’ and unable to communicate this to people around me. It became necessary as a teacher, to be able to hide my emotional state and just get on with the job. In hindsight, I still view this as a step that helped me cope longer than I would have otherwise.

As my condition worsened over the years, I started to really look at the condition as a chronic illness – rather than just something I had to get ‘over’ – and researched how I could deal with it. I had more failures than successes in dealing with my *Asthma*, and the people around me, the people I had the strongest bonds with, started to alter their behaviour towards me. They were just as exhausted with my *Asthma* as I was.

In their fatigued state, my loved ones reacted with frustration and mild anger – regularly ‘guilting’ me by admonishing my inability to communicate my *Asthma* with them. In their pain and helplessness, they were upset that I hadn’t reached out. They didn’t understand that to cope I had to isolate myself.

To cope – I just clammed up.

Leave a Reply

