A GoodBye Post

Standard

Three weeks ago,
I was terrified that I was about to lose
my most beloved dog – Jack.

Out of my three dogs,
he is my favourite.

I love him with all my heart.

Today,
I had to make the decision
to terminate the life of Jack’s brother
– Horatio.

Jack & Horatio
were born
on October 17th 1999,
first and last in a litter of six puppies,
of three boys and three girls.

At nine days old,
Horatio,
the runt of the litter,
was the first to open his eyes
and
the first to move away from their mother.

I had to have him.
He was a rule breaker and trouble.

I would equally regret and applaud my decision
every day for the next fifteen and a half years.

Today,
I had to recognise that his monumental life
was over.

He was in pain,
and I was the only person who could grant him
the chance of peace and painlessness.

At 15:15 on 2nd May 2014,
Horatio Fogarty
was quickly but painlessly
sent to eternal rest.

I haven’t stoppped crying since then.

But he is at peace.

I did the right thing.

I will love you FOREVER, my sweet Old Man.
F-O-R-E-V-E-R

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

.

.

.

.

.

2 responses »

  1. I’m so very sorry…it is heart-breaking. The best I can offer is that you gave each other a wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

