Some Timely Words

Standard

There’s a saying in business
that ‘every successful person has failed at least twice
before achieving true success’.

  • J.K. Rowling was penniless, recently divorced, and raising a child on her own.  She wrote the first Harry Potter book on an old manual typewriter.  Twelve publishers rejected the manuscript.  A year later she was given the green light by Barry Cunningham from Bloomsbury, who agreed to publish the book but insisted she get a day job cause there was no money in children’s books.  The series has sold 450 million copies and made J.K Rowling a billionaire.  So much for publishers who told her, “There’s no money in children’s books.”
  • Can you imagine a gentleman telling you he wants to build a massive theme park where families can spend time together in a hot Florida swamp?  You might not think it’s too crazy now.  However when Walt Disney wanted to build Disney World, he was rejected for financing over 300 times.
  • The Beatles were rejected by many record labels.  In a famously quoted rejection letter, a music label said, “Guitar groups are on the way out” and “the Beatles have no future in show business.”  Shortly thereafter the Beatles signed with EMI, brought Beatlemania to the United States, and became the most influential band in the history of rock and roll.

I have struggled with being
a massive failure
since I closed my business
on Christmas Eve, last year.

I am slowly coming around to the idea,
that I don’t just have to accept
my past mistakes . . . .

. . . . I can actually
USE my past inadequacies,
as a means of creating wisdom
and building a stronger ‘me’,

in a truly literal sense.

.

.

Man!
I feel so much better!

I don’t feel so lost

.

So how about you?

Can you see any major ‘stuff ups’ in your past
that could be used as building blocks for a ‘bigger’ future?

I’d love to know.

.

.

Leave a Reply

