Is Depression More Like Cancer, Than Asthma?

Standard

Ed’s Note:
When I compare Cancer to Depression,
I do so purely to illustrate to depression novices
an alternative way to ‘view’ depression
without just writing it off as “something to get over”.

I have often described depression to people,
especially those who appear to not understand depression,
to be just like asthma.

  • There’s preventative medication
  • Some seasons/months it’s worse
  • There are often environmental triggers
  • It’s a physical/medical condition
  • You can have a ‘normal’ life even if you have it

But cancer!
Cancer is some  scary shit,
that people take seriously.

  • There’s hope for successful treatment
  • You need to deal with it, not just ignore it
  • Not everyone will survive it
  • It makes you appreciate your non-cancer state of health
  • There’s ALWAYS the chance of it reoccurring

 .

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

.

Today, I was scanning the ABC:iview for something to watch,
’cause I still don’t have a tv.

I stumbled on to “Ruby Wax’s Mad Confessions”.
It was fantastic !!!

It was also confronting for reasons that few others would understand.

Except if you have had long-term depression.

.

.

At 37:28
Ruby talks about an element of depression
that most people just don’t understand.

At 41:30
she says what her proudest achievement is.

It is the VERY SAME reason why I chose to never have children.
I truly believed
(and believe)
that I could not achieve
what she achieved.

At 46:00
Charlotte says something
that has been my belief
about Mental Illness
for the past 20 years.

Despite, my Mum telling me
repeatedly over the years, that she believes
that I am the
weakest
person in our family,
because I have depression.

Thanks Ruby.
xoxox

Ruby Wax

Ruby Wax

.

Here is Ruby’s online Initiative for changing the environment around depression: Black Dog Tribe.

.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

.

Are you an AUSTRALIAN MAN, who needs support with a Mental Illness?
Then check out this unbelievably awesome program,
started right there in my town Busselton, Western Australla.
Black Dog Ride

Black Dog Ride

.

And here is just one of a number
of fantastic Mental Health
support programs/sites
for anyone in Aus.

Beyond Blue

logo.

.

.

Suicide: Be an exception NOT a statistic . . . . it’s what I choose to be (tell myself), for my nephew, Harry

.

.

.

5 responses »

    • I can see what you mean, Noriel.
      .
      I don’t mean to undermine anyone who has suffered through/survived Cancer, rather I was trying to put into context how debilitating and all-consuming Depression can be, to anyone who has no TRUE understanding of what Depression is.

  1. Hi Pia , I understand what you were getting at ❤ but what I meant was that unless you have suffered all 3 I suppose it is hard to make a comparison ❤

    • I was worried after re-reading my post and your comment that perhaps I could/have upset those who have faced the Terrible C.
      .
      Do you think it warrants taking down?
      I genuinely don’t want to upset anyone.
      .
      Thanks for your feedback.

      Me
      xoxox

  2. NO sweety there is no need at all to take your post down….. and you certainly did not upset ME xxx was just commenting on how hard it would be to compare the 3 separate health issues xxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

