In The Scheme Of Things

Standard

Today was ANZAC Day.

A day where many people who would normally not make the effort to engender respect in our community,
actually behave in a better manner.

This year was one of the few that I haven’t made it to a Dawn Service.
I always ball my eyes out.
Every year!
The solemnity of the occasion totally overwhelms me.

Being a history lover, the tradition plus the modern spirit of ANZAC Day fills me with hope.
Hope, that lessons can be learnt and progress can be made within our culture.

Anne Leach, 97, who served as a nurse in lebanon & Syria during WWII, waves an Australian flag during Perth's ANZAC Day parade.

In the past, I have made it to the largest Dawn Service held in Western Australia,
which occurs at Kings Park War Memorial every 25th of April.

I can tell you without a word of exaggeration, that the hour leading up to the dawn,
when we all arrive in the dark,
is the quietest moment of my life.
The silence is truly deafening.
I kid you not, when I say that even babies don’t cry.

It is eery.
And spectacular.
And heart-warming.

A young boy stands amongst grave stones during the wreath laying ceremonies at the Australian National memorial in Villers-Bretonneuz, northern France, 2012.

They shall not grow old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.

“The Ode” by Laurence Binyon

2 responses »

    • Hi Adam

      When I was researching my blog post (on ANZAC Day) last year, I came across a number of stunning images. If you click on the photo in the post, you will be linked back to the source.

      I always try to link back to an original source. Sometimes I have to do some serious ‘hunting’ to find information or images so I try to make it as easy for everyone else to use the materials. Plus – it’s very important to acknowledge where data or images have come from: the artist, as it were 🙂

      It’s a beautiful photo – absolutely perfect for the tone of my post. It must have been taken by a News Limited photographer!

      I hope this helps.
      Pia xx

Leave a Reply

